Comrades - N - Community


Comrades N Community Inc. signature event  

Honoring women 80 years & Older . 


The sole purpose of the Women of Stamina Awards is to inspire the hearts of maturing women at such a tender time in their lives. It was an answer to a prayer and much has blossomed from it.  This award started out like others, honoring accomplishments but it was soon revealed the true requirements for this award had nothing to do with individual effort, but God's gifts to them first and foremost that indeed allowed all else possible in their lives.

As we sought their advice and used their bios to created community events, some become involved in every event we presented.  As we approached the history presentation on Saturday, September 30 it was with heartfelt thanks and appreciation to God. For He allowed us this opportunity to share with other through the Women of Stamina Awardees and this has been no small thing.  

At the annual WOS luncheons the praises would go up for the blessings of longevity in the 80 and older category, quality of life, and acquired wisdom, and after the luncheon the blessings they leave with us come down in the form of conferences, seminars, prayer services, award programs, student field trips and other community involvement we may participate in. 

A very special thanks to all that attended the WOS History PowerPoint Presentation, September 20, 2017, at the Guest House at Graceland Theater. We trust that you were encouraged, inspired and informed! For it is our firm belief that inspiration works wonders in the lives of those who allow it to lead to tangible action that manifests success.   


Women blessed by God with the gifts of longevity in the 80 years and older category, quality of life and wisdom whose bios are used to create community events.  

We acknowledge God's gifts to them that have made their gifts available to us! 



Acknowledged  women that excelled in Civic and Business - One time only event

Bernie Randolph *

Evelyn  Kellibrew *

Alma Morris *

Audrey McGhee 

Bessie Rogers 

Fannie Swanson 

Gloriadean H.  Porter*

Jeanette Brown



"Honoring God's Gift of Longevity to women 80 and older"

Magnolia Bass*

Gussie Butler* 

Odessa Hayes* 

Mary Lawson* 

Johnsie Sims * 

Dora Todd *

Leola Williams* 


Beatrice Roby*
Carlotta Watson Stewart*
Elivira Williams *
Elizabeth Butts *
Elizabeth Toles *
Ida Jones * 
Lorse Harris *
Sylvia Gamble*

 Almetta Allen Young
Annie Betty Green*
Arilla Miller*
Helen King *
Josephine Wood *
Ida Mae Brunson *
Margaret Halle *
Sadie Miller *

 Alice Patterson Dickens*
Annie Cargill*
Berthaniel Payne *
Effie Mae Hill  *
Ida Reaves *
Josephine Woods*
Katie Henderson *
Precious Christian *
Verline Perry
Violet Duncan*

Dorothy Curry Withers- Lifetime Achievement *

James and Annie Green 70 years of marriage and Coach Johnny Johnson- Coaching Longevity Award

Only male tribute ever!

Alberta Gill
Alversa Williams Lee *
Bonnie Schledwitz *
Ella Ruth Holmes
Ester Chambers*
Frances Brown
Georgia Harvey*
Hannah Cole Serino *
Irene Jones*
Johnnie Jewel Smith*
June Chapman *
Libby Denton
Lucinda Bowen *
Mae Ringold *
Ollie Hinton*
Ollie Lowery*
Rosemary Nicholson*
Virginia Golden *

Elizabeth Bolden 115 Years Wise - Oldest Person in the US. Longevity Award Recipient*

 Ann Webb Robertson *
Ida Ghoston *
Mosetta Sesley Miller* 
Myrtle Jeffries *
Ora Jackson
Venessie Brown*
Gracie Templeton
Virginia Taylor *
Dorothy Springer*

Alice Sandridge *
Angela Astor*
Evelyn Wimmer
Fordie Burton
Hattie Velma Carter
Jannie Winfrey  
Johnnie Lewis *
Ruby Lee Harris*


Arand Taylor

Beatrice Sledge*
Jessie Jones *
Jessye Fox Anderson
Katheryn Perry Thomas*
Lillie Pryor
Mary Elizabeth Hughes *
Mildred Swearengen Hayes
Nettie Rogers *
Wally Flanagan * 

Ann Williams
Elizabeth Norworth *
Eugenia Brooks
Doris Burks
Doris Haithcock
Georgia Crawford*
Kay  Rowland *
Mamie Bridgforth Richardson *
Mariah Wilks
Odessa Thompson 

*No WOS Awards presented in 2009
 Special Award Category - DMCW Award of Excellence for Women in Business

Presented to  Alberta Nibley owner of Concept 2000  Hair Salon  

Anna Clark *

Georgia Russell *
Jo Ella Partee * 
Lizzie Morton 
Lucille Rogers 
Mae Frances Spivey*
Roberta Strasberg 
V Ella Hamilton * 


Special Award Category- DMCW Award of Excellence for Women in Business 

Hattie Nelson - Nelson Inc

Ruby Alexander  
Helen Bowen*
Martha Gibbs
Dr LaVerne Tolley Gurley * 
Bertha Cartwright Harris 
Ida B. Johnson 
Etta Hodnett *
Illa Rayford 


Special Award Category - DMCW Award of Excellence for Women in Business 

Bennita Wade- Bennita Wade Nationwide Insurance Agency 

Bettye Berger  
Ida Mae Burgess 
Thelma Dallas 
Mary Elizabeth Edwards * 
Louise Jones 
Frances Williams 
Bessie Woodall *

No WOS Awards 2013, 2014


Charlene Turner  
Margaret Wiggins * 
Hattye Yarbrough
Clara  Weaver
Martha Campbell
Ethel Higgins
Dorothy Tucker


Special Award Category- WOS Educators of Excellence Awardee Retired Division 

Mary P. Vann * 


 Marie Bradford

Annie Mae Masters

Doris Frieson 

Juanita London 

Jane Engleberg

Josephine King  

Only seven recipients were not able to attend the awards luncheon at the last minute due to problems beyond their control.   Now that's what we call STAMINA! 

 *denotes awardee has passed on